Peerages with rules of limited inheritance, for example: the 1st Baroness Abercromby, whose peerage was limited to male descendants of her late husband.


Peerages for this Special Remainder

Title Letters patent Extinct Merged into crown
Abercromby (Barony) Mary Anne Abercromby - Thu 28th May 1801 7 October 1924 -
Beaulieu (Barony) Edward Montagu - Tue 11th May 1762 - -
of Bedford (Dukedom) William Russell - Tue 11th May 1694 - -
of Beverley (Marquessate) James Douglas - Sat 26th May 1708 22 October 1778 -
Blarney (Barony) Charles MacCarthy - Wed 15th Nov 1628 - -
Bolsover (Barony) Augusta Mary Elizabeth Cavendish-Bentinck - Fri 23rd Apr 1880 21 March 1977 -
of Breadalbane and Holland (Earldom) John Campbell - Wed 13th Aug 1681 - -
of Brentford (Earldom) Frederick Schomberg - Mon 9th May 1689 5 July 1719 -
Buckhurst (Barony) Elizabeth Sackville West - Wed 27th Apr 1864 - -
Canning (Viscountcy) Joan Canning - Tue 22nd Jan 1828 17 June 1862 -
of Castlemaine (Earldom) Roger Palmer - Sun 11th Dec 1661 - -
Chatham (Barony) Hester Pitt - Fri 4th Dec 1761 - -
of Clarendon (Earldom) Thomas Villiers - Fri 14th Jun 1776 - -
of Cleveland (Dukedom) Barbara Palmer - Sun 3rd Aug 1670 - -
Coningsby (Barony) Thomas Coningsby - Thu 18th Jun 1716 - -
Crofton (Barony) Anne Crofton - Fri 9th Mar 1798 - -
Daer and Shortcleuch (Lordship) William Douglas-Hamilton - Sat 4th Aug 1646 - -
Dirletoun (Lordship) Thomas Erskine - Tue 12th Mar 1619 - -
of Dover (Dukedom) James Douglas - Sat 26th May 1708 22 October 1778 -
Dufferin and Claneboye (Barony) Dorcas Blackwood - Thu 31st Jul 1800 - -
of Elgin (Earldom) Thomas Bruce - Tue 21st Jun 1633 - -
of Fentoun (Viscountcy) Thomas Erskine - Tue 12th Mar 1619 - -
Ffrench (Barony) Rose Ffrench - Mon 12th Mar 1798 - -
of Galloway (Earldom) Alexander Stewart - Tue 19th Sep 1623 - -
Garlies (Lordship) Alexander Stewart - Thu 19th Jul 1607 - -
Glandine (Viscountcy) John Toler - Sat 23rd Jun 1827 - -
Glean O'Mallun (Barony) Dermot O'Mallun - Wed 5th Oct 1622 - -
Glenorchy, Benederaloch, Ormelie and Weick (Lordship) John Campbell - Wed 13th Aug 1681 - -
Greenwich (Barony) Caroline Townshend - Wed 19th Aug 1767 - -
Hambleden (Viscountcy) Emily Smith - Wed 11th Nov 1891 - -
of Harwich (Marquessate) Frederick Schomberg - Mon 9th May 1689 5 July 1719 -
Hervey (Barony) William Hervey - Wed 5th Aug 1620 - -
Hervey (Barony) William Hervey - Mon 7th Feb 1628 - -
Holland (Barony) Caroline Fox - Thu 6th May 1762 - -
Hood (Barony) Susanna Hood - Fri 27th Mar 1795 - -
Howland (Barony) William Russell - Fri 13th May 1695 - -
Jeffreys (Barony) George Jeffreys - Tue 15th May 1685 - -
of Kellie (Earldom) Thomas Erskine - Tue 12th Mar 1619 - -
Kilwarden (Barony) Anne Wolfe - Wed 30th Sep 1795 - -
Langford (Viscountcy) Elizabeth Ormsby Rowley - Wed 19th Feb 1766 - -
of Lauderdale (Viscountcy) John Maitland - Sat 2nd Apr 1616 - -
of Lauderdale (Earldom) John Maitland - Thu 14th Mar 1624 - -
Lovaine (Barony) Hugh Percy - Wed 28th Jan 1784 - -
Maitland (Viscountcy) John Maitland - Thu 14th Mar 1624 - -
of Marlborough (Earldom) James Ley - Sat 7th Feb 1626 - -
Mountstuart (Barony) Mary Stuart - Fri 3rd Apr 1761 - -
Muskerry (Viscountcy) Charles MacCarthy - Wed 15th Nov 1628 - -
Nonsuch (Barony) Barbara Palmer - Sun 3rd Aug 1670 - -
of Norbury (Earldom) John Toler - Sat 23rd Jun 1827 - -
of Northumberland (Dukedom) Hugh Percy - Wed 22nd Oct 1766 - -
Nugent (Barony) Mary Elizabeth Nugent-Temple-Grenville - Fri 26th Dec 1800 - -
Palmer (Barony) Roger Palmer - Sun 11th Dec 1661 - -
Percy (Earldom) Hugh Percy - Wed 22nd Oct 1766 - -
of Portland (Earldom) Richard Weston - Thu 17th Feb 1633 - -
Rayleigh (Barony) Charlotte Mary Gertrude Strutt - Wed 18th Jul 1821 - -
Ripon (Barony) James Douglas - Sat 26th May 1708 22 October 1778 -
Sandys (Barony) Mary Hill - Sat 19th Jun 1802 - -
Savile (Barony) John Savile - Fri 21st Jul 1628 - -
of Schomberg (Dukedom) Frederick Schomberg - Mon 9th May 1689 5 July 1719 -
of Selkirk (Earldom) William Douglas-Hamilton - Sat 4th Aug 1646 - -
Seymour (Barony) Edward Seymour - Tue 15th Feb 1547 - -
Somerhill (Barony) Elizabeth Ormsby Rowley - Wed 19th Feb 1766 - -
of Somerset (Dukedom) Edward Seymour - Wed 16th Feb 1547 - -
of Southampton (Earldom) Barbara Palmer - Sun 3rd Aug 1670 - -
Stawell (Barony) Mary Legge - Wed 21st May 1760 - -
St John (Viscountcy) Henry St John - Thu 2nd Jul 1716 - -
St John (Barony) Henry St John - Thu 2nd Jul 1716 - -
Stratheden (Barony) Mary Elizabeth Campbell - Fri 22nd Jan 1836 - -
Talbot de Malahide (Barony) Margaret Talbot - Sat 28th May 1831 - -
of Tavistock (Marquessate) William Russell - Tue 11th May 1694 - -
of Tay and Paintland (Viscountcy) John Campbell - Wed 13th Aug 1681 - -
Teyes (Barony) Frederick Schomberg - Mon 9th May 1689 5 July 1719 -
Thirlestane and Boltoun (Lordship) John Maitland - Thu 14th Mar 1624 - -
Vane (Earldom) Charles William Vane - Tue 8th Jul 1823 - -
Ward (Barony) Humble Ward - Wed 23rd Mar 1644 - -
Weston (Barony) Richard Weston - Thu 13th Apr 1628 - -