Daer and Shortcleuch (Lordship)

A peerage of the Kingdom of Scotland.

Letters patent issued on Sat 4th Aug 1646

To William Douglas-Hamilton as Hereditary peerage subsidiary to another created by the same letters patent.

Nature of Special Remainder

Peerages with rules of limited inheritance, for example: the 1st Baroness Abercromby, whose peerage was limited to male descendants of her late husband.

Note: Regranted by letters patent of 6 Oct. 1688 with SR to younger sons etc

Holders

Number Surname Forenames Held from Held to
1st Douglas-Hamilton William Sat 4th Aug 1646 Wed 6th Oct 1688
2nd Douglas Charles Wed 6th Oct 1688 Fri 13th Mar 1739
4th Douglas Dunbar Thu 3rd Dec 1744 Sun 26th May 1799
5th Douglas Thomas Sun 26th May 1799 Sat 8th Apr 1820
6th Douglas Dunbar James Sat 8th Apr 1820 Sat 11th Apr 1885
7th Douglas-Hamilton Charles George Archibald Sat 11th Apr 1885 Sun 2nd May 1886
8th Douglas-Hamilton William Alexander Louis Stephen Sun 2nd May 1886 Thu 16th May 1895
9th Douglas-Hamilton Alfred Douglas Thu 16th May 1895 Sat 16th Mar 1940
10th Douglas-Hamilton George Nigel Sat 16th Mar 1940 Thu 24th Nov 1994
11th Douglas-Hamilton James Alexander Thu 24th Nov 1994 Thu 1st Dec 1994