of Elgin (Earldom)

of Elgin (Earldom)

A peerage of the Kingdom of Scotland.

Letters patent issued on Tue 21st Jun 1633

To Thomas Bruce as Promotion.

Nature of Special Remainder

Peerages with rules of limited inheritance, for example: the 1st Baroness Abercromby, whose peerage was limited to male descendants of her late husband.

Note: SR to hm bearing the name and arms of Bruce

Holders

Number Surname Forenames Held from Held to
1st Bruce Thomas Tue 21st Jun 1633 Fri 21st Dec 1663
2nd Bruce Robert Fri 21st Dec 1663 Sat 20th Oct 1685
3rd Bruce Thomas Sat 20th Oct 1685 Tue 5th Dec 1741
4th Bruce Charles Tue 5th Dec 1741 Fri 10th Feb 1747
7th Bruce Thomas Mon 15th Jul 1771 Sun 14th Nov 1841
8th Bruce James Sun 14th Nov 1841 Fri 20th Nov 1863
9th Bruce Victor Alexander Fri 20th Nov 1863 Thu 18th Jan 1917
10th Bruce Edward James Thu 18th Jan 1917 Wed 27th Nov 1968
11th Bruce Andrew Douglas Alexander Thomas Wed 27th Nov 1968 -

External identifiers

Wikidata: Q168328