of Norfolk (Earldom)

of Norfolk (Earldom)

A peerage of the Kingdom of England.

Letters patent issued on Mon 6th Jun 1644

To Thomas Howard as New hereditary peerage: not a promotion.

Nature of Special Remainder

Peerages which may be inherited by a male indirect descendant of the first holder, for example: a brother or a male cousin.

Note: SR to hm of Thomas late Earl of Suffolk; failing whom to hm of William Lord Howard

Holders

Number Surname Forenames Held from Held to
1st Howard Thomas Mon 6th Jun 1644 Mon 24th Sep 1646
2nd Howard Henry Frederick Mon 24th Sep 1646 Wed 17th Apr 1652
4th Howard Henry Fri 3rd Dec 1677 Thu 13th Jan 1684
5th Howard Henry Thu 13th Jan 1684 Sat 2nd Apr 1701
9th Howard Charles Thu 31st Aug 1786 Sat 16th Dec 1815
10th Howard Bernard Edward Sat 16th Dec 1815 Wed 16th Mar 1842
11th Howard Henry Charles Wed 16th Mar 1842 Mon 18th Feb 1856
12th Fitzalan-Howard Henry Granville Mon 18th Feb 1856 Sun 25th Nov 1860
13th Fitzalan-Howard Henry Sun 25th Nov 1860 Sun 11th Feb 1917
14th Fitzalan-Howard Bernard Marmaduke Sun 11th Feb 1917 Fri 31st Jan 1975
15th Fitzalan-Howard Miles Francis Stapleton Fri 31st Jan 1975 Mon 24th Jun 2002
16th Fitzalan-Howard Edward William Mon 24th Jun 2002 -

External identifiers

Wikidata: Q1115103